Salisbury Market Day

I was back in Salisbury today, after arriving at the campsite last night. This site is closer to town and I walked into the centre - about a 30 minute walk, mostly along the River Avon. Salisbury has a market every Tuesday and Saturday and I missed it last time so I definitely wanted to be there today. I do love a good market. I had a late start as I felt like being lazy this morning. Well, I am on a mini holiday, aren’t I?

There are lots of beautiful and historic buildings in Salisbury. And the flowers are amazing. The blue building in the middle of the collage is probably the most famous building right now as it is the restaurant where the recent poisoning incident happened. It’s still cordoned off with constant security. Sadly, the businesses of the city have really suffered because of that incident, so I have done what I could to keep the local economy afloat!

The extra photo shows some of the market stalls. There was a great variety - not just food but clothing, household items, plants, flowers and even a stall for pet food and toys etc! I bought a few food items but actually spent more on clothing. I love the olive bar so I included two in my collage. I just wish I liked to eat olives as much as I like to look at them! Unfortunately I can’t bear them, which I think is such a shame.

I treated myself to a very late lunch before taking the bus back to the campsite and then enjoyed a late supper of French cheese, a baguette and wine followed by a piece of the French flan (or custard tart), pictured in the collage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.