Arundells - Salisbury

When my family moved to England from the US in 1972, Edward Heath was the Prime Minister. I was too young to be much interested in news or politics, but I do remember. Edward Heath lived in this house in Salisbury - Arundells - for the last 20 years or so of his life. The house is now owned by a Trust and is open to the public daily, but on Wednesdays they have guided tours so that was my main activity for today.

But first - I had the pleasure of spending a couple of hours with my friend Vanessa who lives about 45 minutes away and came in to Salisbury just to have coffee with me on this rainy morning. We met at Fisherton Mill which is an arts centre and studio with a very lovely cafe restaurant. We enjoyed catching up on news, sharing delicious cakes and browsing the locally produced works of art.

Once we went our separate ways I went for my tour. The house faces the cathedral and has an interesting and varied history, being once owned by the church. But even more fascinating, was what I learned about Edward Heath. Not only a politician, he also excelled as a musician, conductor, art collector and sailor. Unlike many homes like this, we were encouraged to sit in the chairs and sofas. I loved sitting in his ‘teapot’ chair by one large bookcase (one of many). I even got to sit at his desk - how many people can say they sat at a PM’s desk? OK, I know he wasn’t PM when he lived here, but still. The other two on the tour were musicians themselves and one of them entertained us with some beautiful music played on Ed Heath’s very own piano. The house also has some beautiful gardens which we were free to explore on our own.

I highly encourage a visit here if you are ever in Salisbury.

After my tour I was ready for a cup of tea which I enjoyed with the wonderful view of the cathedral before eventually taking the bus back ‘home’ to my campsite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.