Inverted Mushroom

Sunday had a more leisurely start. I enjoyed the luxury of going out for breakfast with my son and his young lady to the most lovely little eatery that you had to turn up at 15 minutes before opening time in order to be able to get a table! Pancakes, syrup, berries, the most delicious flavoured butter and crispy bacon - Yum! Definitely not my usual fare but it was lovely as a treat, all washed down with orange juice and a good cup of coffee :))

Then I said my farewells and headed to Kings Cross to take some shots of this amazing mushroom-shaped structure. Despite how it may appear, I haven't turned this image upside down - I leant over backwards rather a long way to take it! :))

I'd decided to give Open House a miss as I couldn't face the thought of any more queuing after yesterday! Instead, I went in search of Regents Canal and enjoyed a walk along the tow path to Camden Market, seeing (and, of course, photographing) some amazing new buildings along the way. By this time I was flagging, so I thought I'd best head back towards Waterloo via The Tate, stopping for a bite to eat and then walking across the Millennium Bridge. 

I spent longer in The Tate than I intended, not least because I wanted to get up to the 10th floor to enjoy the view from the terrace and the lifts were so full that I ended up climbing the stairs. I also took advantage of my membership and saw two great exhibitions, one of which I was allowed to take photos in - I do so enjoy photographing people contemplating the artwork :))

So from there to Waterloo and home again soon after 9pm. Too exhausted to sleep properly but I'd had a great weekend full of new experiences! In the 51 hours I'd been there, I'd walked more than 21 miles which I thought was quite a lot since I'd spent most of Saturday in a queue! If you missed yesterday's blip, do please take a look - I queued for nearly 6 hours in order to be able to take it, so I'd love for you to see it!

Huge thanks to those of you who have commented or left stars and hearts - very much appreciated!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.