5 Days After the Hurricane...

I finally gave up.....   the frig warmed up, the generator couldn't keep up with the heat in the house.  It was about 90-100 degrees inside the house, 92 outside in the sun.   I was glad it was sunny and not raining but with losing the refrigerator I was done.  I called a bonsai friend who had electricity and I was invited to go to their home.  I gathered a few clothes, got the meat out of the freezer that was semi thawed, the girls and their food, and locked the door.  
     I was so grateful to get a shower, for the first time in 5 days.  They had a hot pizza waiting for me, clean sheets, a cool bedroom and a wonderful night's sleep.
      As I drove up to my friends house, the sun was setting, the sky was beautiful.  The neighbor had it's light on, getting ready for dusk.  I felt so welcomed and glad to have a place to be safe and cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.