Riverwalk

After my 23+ hour day travelling yesterday, I only moved a few km today.

I had an 8am conference call this morning, then I managed to squeeze in a quick run before the first conference session.

The Riverwalk was a pleasant and fairly flat place to run, but in 28 degree heat (with high humidity) I overheated after about 22 minutes, and walked back.  I got in the shower with most of my running gear on because it couldn't have got any wetter and that way at least I rinsed the sweat out.

The conference itself was interesting - this one is a research trip and I'm certainly gathering lots of useful information.

This evening (after eating carefully most of yesterday and today) I decided to go out and find a decent dinner.  I found a Mexican restaurant on the Riverwalk (highly recommended by the hotel).  It had a lovely location and nice atmosphere.  The menu had my tastebuds watering.  Sadly the food didn't.  

It was all swimming in grease from excess melted (cheap) cheese, and every iota of natural body and flavour had been banished from a promising set of ingredients.  It is what I imagine it would be like having a Mexican meal in space - rehydrated and cooked in a microwave.  Very disappointing.

The salad I had when I got into the hotel last night was mediocre too.

I'm determined to find something good to eat tomorrow - I hope that doesn't prove to be too much of a challenge.

The Riverwalk was very pretty as I walked back to the hotel, with tour boats (or should I say motorised pontoons) still out in force.  Shame I won't have time to explore on one of them.

The highlight of the day was a video call with my wife and son (also squeezed in between conference sessions), who seemed in good spirits, and certainly aided mine.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.