There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

May Peace Prevail On Earth

This is the peace pole that resides in the middle of Penn State's campus. I say a prayer for peace every time that I walk past: let there be peace in our time; let it begin with me.

I take some delight in the placement of the pole: between the spiritual center and the library; in the middle of a tiny woods. Faith, knowledge, wilderness. These are some of the points of the compass that guide me.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes about peace.

"Imagine all the people living life in peace. You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one. I hope someday you'll join us, and the world will be as one." - John Lennon

"Better than a thousand hollow words, is one word that brings peace." - Buddha

"If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other." - Mother Teresa

"I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality . . . I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word." - Martin Luther King, Jr.

"The most valuable possession you can own is an open heart. The most powerful weapon you can be is an instrument of peace." - Carlos Santana

Maybe you have a favorite quote about peace too? If you do, I would love it if you would share it in the comments.

Peace be with you, friends. May there be peace in our time.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.