Into the Mist

The cool nights have brought some impressive fog and mist several mornings in a row. I stopped on this particular morning to photograph a field of cows that I've blipped once before. Somehow, though, on this occasion, I liked the scene better without the cows. I felt like I could take about 10 steps and disappear quite happily into the mist, perhaps never to be heard from again!

I am a fan of J.R.R. Tolkien's work, and of the movies about the hobbit and the Lord of the Rings. This scene reminded me of a song called Far Over the Misty Mountains Cold that appears in the book The Hobbit. The lyrics are reproduced here, and I found a version of it on YouTube sung by an a capella group out of Nashville called Street Corner Symphony. Their performance of it has the feeling of the chanting of monks (or perhaps dwarves), but is a bit more melancholy than that. (And here I have to admit that fog does NOT make me feel melancholy, but I enjoyed the song nonetheless. If you like this group, you can find more of their songs by searching on the group's name on YT, and they also have a Facebook page.)

P.S. I've fallen a bit behind on blip, so I am posting several blips in one day to catch up. Please be sure to check out the Tuesday and Thursday photos as well!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.