Sunflowers at Childhood's Gate

One day last week, I was visiting the Arboretum's children's garden, Childhood's Gate, when I stumbled across a small field of mini sunflowers. They are right behind the wigwam structures that I photographed earlier in the summer.

I couldn't resist some photos on that day, and I've been back several times since. They are small, compared to other sunflowers I've seen. They stand no taller than about two to three feet high - I got down low to take this shot, so they look bigger than they are. But considering their small stature, the sunflowers generate an amazing amount of sunny goodwill and smiles.

And remember those bumblebees that I found napping beneath the flower blooms earlier in the summer? They also love sunflowers! I don't think you can see any of them in this shot, but have a look at that sunflower that is front and center - it does have a napping bug on it, but in this case, it's a moth, not a bumblebee . . .

The soundtrack: Glen Campbell performing a tune written by Neil Diamond, Sunflowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.