19 Not Out!

Well, well, well, we all did it- Mark Beaumont managed to cycle round the world in 79 days and His Lordship and I managed 19 years of married life without either of us implanting an axe in the other's head.

I'm sure Mark's 3 months of more or less continuous cycling felt longer to him than our 19 years in tandem have to us. They seem to have gone in a flash. Had we been bringing up children together I'm sure it would have seemed infinitely longer- I know it did the first time round for both of us.

We celebrated with big fat scones, complete with trimmings, coffee and, yes, glasses of champagne up top in Harvey Nichol's. With every year that passes we are beginning to believe that with luck, we might manage our second silver wedding each.

I don't think Mark Beaumont in the extra photo will be repeating this latest challenge again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.