Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Which end do you prefer?

The pointy end or the blunt end?

The pointy end is the business end but if you can see it clearly, the danger is going away.

On the other hand, the blunt end means they are coming to get you (maybe).

Still with the macro theme this week, I revisited the site of the wasp nest at Kinghorn Loch.
There are two entrances/exits about five feet apart and there is constant coming and going at both. The holes were probably dug by a rodent some time in the past but as I watched, wasps were emerging with mouthfuls of soil so excavations are ongoing.

I set the camera to continuous shooting and fired off bursts at arms-length keeping my body as far out of their flight-path as possible. They didn't bother me so no stings but on a couple of occasions there seemed to be a mob taking an interest in me so I backed off for a while.

In all, I rattled off over 500 frames and only satisfied with about half a dozen. Just imagine doing that in the old days of film cameras!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.