SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

Tiny Tuesday

So am I the only that didn’t know what groatie buckies were?  

I had seen these smallest of shells on a fellow blippers post recently and was so intrigued by them.  Do forgive this Canadian if I’m wrong, but my research tells me that in the British Isles they are known as “cowries” except in Caithness, Orkney and Shetland where they are called Groatie Buckies.  The shells are considered to confer good luck and people that collect them often have a small jar of these beauties.  I can imagine it would be rather therapeutic searching for these along the shoreline.  The smallest ones here are about half the size of my pinky fingernail.  They are T I N Y.

My dear blip friends PW & HV from Orkney, were kind enough to send me this wee batch!  I am so grateful as I have collections of things I like to collect. ;)  I have high hopes one day to visit there and hopefully collect some wee shells of my own. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.