earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Regrouping

Ever since I settled in Ilkley I've been drawn to the cairn that sits on the moor above the town. It doesn't mark the highest point, but the most prominent. I will never, ever tire of the view.

Until my recent move, I've always been able to see the cairn from where I've lived. I've been getting closer with each address, to the point where I'm now actually too close to see it! I must have made the climb up here, running or walking or hobbling (even made it on crutches with my broken knee once) a few thousand times. Perhaps it's my personal equivalent of the shed to which men typically retreat, or their allotment. It's my safe place.

I've found myself lingering here quite a bit the last few evenings. Some regrouping has been required. Once the sun gets low in the sky I'm not often disturbed, although it's an easy place to strike up a conversation with anyone who happens to pass by. I seem to know most of the people that do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.