Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Making apple butter

Some of those apples I bought on Monday are now apple butter.   Today I did some "buttering".  I don't know what you would call making apple butter! It is not jelly or jam.   Using 12 apples (8 Jonagold (a hybrid of Jonathon and Golden Delicious) and 4 Ambrosia ( a little firmer apple), some cinnamon and some sugar...all in the Crockpot..or slow cooker if there is not Crockpot.    Four hours on high, take the lid off, stir and cook on high for two more hours so that it will thicken.    I got 6  half pint jars (I probably would have had one more but I ate some!)    For those using liters, that would be about 1/4 liter I think.     

So now to get some biscuits.   Not cookies as cookies are called biscuits in the UK I think but flaky, buttermilk biscuits!   I can make biscuits but I will just get those frozen kind that are really good next time I go to the store.    Which is good anyway because I can take out 2-4 to bake at one time instead of having to eat a dozen if I made them myself!    

Cooking apples makes the house smell wonderful too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.