Marsupium Photography

By magi

rusty disks

Busy at work interviewing people which was quite fun. The blip opportunities suffered though. So a photo of some rusty junk I found on the way to my bike has to do.

I finally managed to listen to a very interesting radio program (in German) arguing that we still have the same problems that led to WW1, nationalism, heroism and exceptionalism. More specifically it was argued that positivism, reducing everything to statistics, made the war such a great catastrophe. This positivist attitude can still be found today. All our endeavours are optimised to be as efficient as possible. For example, it allows us to accept the huge numbers of refugees that drown in the Mediterranean. It's a statistic rather than the fate of individuals. This is something that occupies me, being a scientist: how can you combine an empirical world view that relies on positive facts with individuals? The argument in the program was that science without ethics produces bombs. Exactly the problem I have with Facebook. Something I need to pursue further...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.