Milltown Loch

Yesterday's glimpse of sun didn't look as if it was to be repeated as the day started dull and showery with a bit of a northerly wind and we were expecting rain for our duathlon.
It was damp as we drove north along the coast road to leave the bikes and still damp as we registered in the village hall but was almost dry when the minibus left me at the race start (Mr Rat was starting and hour later).
As we began the run there were patches of sun but a heavy shower hit as we were climbing the hill to the open moorland and a lighter one later. The paths were very wet underfoot and there were patched of mud and burns to ford - pretty much what I expect in a trail race in the west! I'd had a cold and the legs were protesting a bit but they made it over the hills to the road which I thought was the toughest bit as there was a steep hill just before we got to the bikes! On the bike and back to Applecross on a switchback road for 15miles - and (after another shower) the sun came out. Mr Rat passed me, along with a lot of others, but I did pass a few and managed to finish fairly strongly and inside my best target time.
Then to the hall fro tea, cake and prizegiving (not any for my part) and this was the view just outside afterwards. The evening was another lovely meal out in the Walled Garden bistro where there were a number of folk from the day's event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.