Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

There's a big military rehearsal/practice/training in Sweden, at the moment, called Aurora. Today I heard the sound of rothor blades and rushed to get my camera. This is a Swedish one, I think... at least we have those, and I really, really, really hope the Americans will fly this route too! 

Today I was at a very inspiring lecture with the ICRC, International Committee of the Red Cross, at Uppsala university. I felt an itch to just go! But I don't have the qualifications needed, not all of them anyways. I don't have a driving license and I don't speak French fluently. I left my CV and application letter with the Swedish Red Cross representative. She told me she'd look at them and I keep my fingers crossed, but I don't hold my breath. I also applied for another job, as an 'educator', or rather support person for those with some kind of handicap that are seeking work or need other kind of support and encouragement. And finally, when I came home from a buss ride that became a bit longer than planned, I sent an email to the Swedish Red Cross in Uppsala, because I mentioned to the contact person at the Swedish Red Cross in Stockholm that a colleague of hers in Uppsala knew who I am, and I wanted to give him a heads up about that. I didn't leave him as a reference, because I hadn't asked him about that, but just that he knows me. And I asked him to have me in mind if an administrative part time job opportunity would arise. So, I've kind of 'applied' for 3 jobs today... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.