Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I ended my day with a lecture at the university main building. If ever this man is doing a lecture in Uppsala, I'm there... I've missed one time when I saw it too late. He's my idol... the former Deputy Secretary-General at UN, Jan Eliasson. He's a fantastic person with such knowledge and such...humanity. He's a true humanitarian and have done many battles in the UN. Now, as he's no longer employed by the UN he can speak his mind freely... Someone asked a question about the veto-system. He told us he got so frustrated when countries used their veto. He saw this a s a failure to veto instead of discussing and coming to a resolution. It was a very interesting lecture about humanitarian rights and the law. Of course we got to hear stories and jokes and hopeful things. He said that women is hope. He'd met so many strong women around the world, that's why we are hope. He said "Diplomacy, rather than sanctions. We need to talk more."
Lots of people came to listen and there were a possibility to ask questions afterwards. I sat there with my camera and tele-lens and I think he saw it, or may be heard it snapping away. I had to use a higher ISO than my camera usually works with, and hand held my camera, so I'm pleased with the shots I got! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.