Along the lane

I pass this spot often, I've blipped it in different guises before. Sadly there are no rights of way or points of access, so it's not somewhere I've spent any time.
But today I pulled over and walked along the farm lane, I figured I can do charming or lost if challenged. When it became clear that the lane does simply go to the farm I paused at a five bar gate and soaked in as much as I could. Grayrigg Tarn shines under Whinfell Beacon, the moor looks positively burnished as autumn gives one last glory of colour, the sky stretches foreverly to Morecambe Bay, it's a wonderful spot, I'm pleased I stopped.


A day early; but these words seemed apt today:
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.