Philosophy Friday

Ownership
Working with Brian over the last two days we've spent a lot of time putting into words concepts and practices that me, myself and I have been pondering a lot recently.
Teaching the hard skills is relatively easy, coaching the soft skills comparatively harder. But nuturing personal development - that's where the magic happens.

And if we can't do that for ourselves then how arrogant would it be to think we could do it for another? , how sad would it be to think our own journey over? 

Yesterday we had a moment, but it was a tiny part of the whole. The drop loomed, the ankle spiked, we paused. We sat on a narrow ridge of rock and acknowledged where we were. Yes there's a drop, yes it hurts. Buts it's just a tiny part of the whole. I can spread my hands wide, focus on the rock, breathe, touch, sense. Solid, unmoving - quite literally grounded. The drop and the ankle scream for a moment, but we know there's more. We can feel the breeze on our necks, the view takes our breath. High the Raven calls to his mate, below us wind blown patterns shimmer the lake. Souls soar. We are here and we are now, and the here and now is more, much more, than enough. Neither the drop or the ankle are the importance of this, they're simply a moment, a part of the whole. 

Neither owns either of us anymore. 
If we accept them, we embrace them and we own them then they are a part of us, not the all of us. 

I've learnt much from Brian, I hope he's learnt a little from me. But vitally I've learnt more about me, myself and I. 
That's always a good thing.

Footnote
Plan A was left behind on the drive into Patterdale, plan B was wavering as we wandered. At Ruthwaite Lodge C became D, and at Grisedale Tarn E emerged triumphant. 
The traverse of St Sunday Crag was bracingly brilliant. We didn't win, steal or manage the day. We owned the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.