... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: great gosling news!

Silhouette more effective in large. (Press "L").

I wasn't going to blip a gosling today, but heard such good news at the common that it had to be marked with a dramatic gosling! I took this photo this morning when the sun was low, and the grass was wet (hence the sparkle in the background grass).
This afternoon I was chatting with another Egyptian Goose fan (she is not their No. 1 fan though...), and she told me that Angel Wing from the previous brood didn't die, but was taken into captivity to protect him since he couldn't fly. I had assumed that he had died (he disappeared, as described in this blip) but he was actually taken to a bird sanctuary. So thrilling! That means 8 out of 9 survived in the last brood (one disappeared very early on). Good parents!

I visited the Saatchi Gallery with a friend this afternoon: I saw this installation which I thought was amazing. It found it quite disorientating when I first entered the room: it took me a little while to work out what I was looking at (the room seemed double its actual height, and it was hard to work out what the various lines that I was seeing meant in the real world)! The strong oily smell was quite bizarre too, especially before I realised that it was oil that I was looking at. More info here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.