... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: creepy crypt...

More atmospheric in large (press "L").

I had an amusing start to the day: I arrived at the museum rather early, and was the first in to the Cryptogamic Herbarium; I (still) don't know how to turn the main light on in the herbarium, so it stays rather dark until someone else arrives. It is worse now that the days are taking longer to brighten up. It doesn't bother me, and I know how to turn the light on in my bay.
But, about 10 minutes after I arrived, I heard slow and heavy footsteps tramping up the corridor. I didn't recognise them, and they sounded lost and hesitant.
A voice called out, "Hello?".
"Hi?", I replied.
A man then appeared in my bay: a large man (like a bear) looking rather disturbed:
"It is very creepy in here; how can you work here by yourself?!"
"He he, it isn't usually this quiet... I suppose I'm used to the atmosphere".
It turns out that he was a maintenance man from the estates department, and was well and truly spooked. I know size makes no difference, but I was just quite surprised that this burly, ursine man was carrying himself with such trepidation. It was quite sweet really (and it is unusual for me to feel like the steady and unstressed party!).

Anyway, here is the creepy crypt; I've put up an HDR of this before (here), but thought I'd post another un-HDR one to show how creepy it looks now that it is darker...

I don't feel the creepiness much (the unoccupied towers seem much more spooky to me), but I suppose there are strong hints: there are signs on two of the doors that say:
FLAMMABLE SPIRIT
THESE DOORS TO BE KEPT CLOSED


Where are the ghost busters when you need them?!

I've put up a busker on Blipfolio: I've seen him a few times before, and he plays a tuba that blows flames out of its bell when he plays... I think the funniest thing is how unamazed everyone seems. People seem to handle improbable things rather well in London on the whole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.