a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Eskimo Day

Brendan and I took Will to Swansea today, for the start of his new life as a student here in the UK.  Quite a culture shock for a lad that was born and raised in Massachusetts.  After treating him to lunch, and doing a supermarket sweep at Tesco, we said our farewells and drove back home to Bath.  

The car seemed strangely empty without him, as does the house this evening.  We've only had a teenager back with us for a week, but he was a very easy and well behaved house guest.  This is a shot of my tired looking brother earlier this evening.  He's had quite a week of it, what with one thing and another, but he's safely delivered Will to college in time, so can try to relax now.

I remember those first few weeks at University, when you know nobody, and are not sure where anything is or how anything works.  You do soon quickly settle down of course and eventually make some good friends. It is tempting, with the distance that time allows, to remember those first few weeks fondly with rose tinted spectacles.  But in practice it was at times a scary stressful time and I think I probably spent most of my University career avoiding people who I met during my first 3 weeks - but I suspect that so did everyone else too.  Rites of passage eh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.