a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Falling Lead

Abstract Thursday:  The Fall



Thursday's seem to come round so quickly don't they?  Yet, they remain one of my favourite challenges and so here with the theme of "the fall" is my take on the subject

"How come twenty four hours, Baby sometimes seem to slip into days? 
Oh twenty-four hours, Baby sometimes seem to slip into days 
A minute seems like a lifetime, baby when I feel this way 
Sittin, lookin at the clock, time moves so slow 
I've been watchin for the hands to move 
Until I just can't look no more 
How come twenty four hours, Baby sometimes seems to slip into days? 
A minute seems like a lifetime, Baby when I feel this way. 

To sing a song for you, I recall you used to say 
"Oh baby this one's for we two", Which in the end is you anyway 

How come twenty four hours, Baby sometimes slip into days? 
A minute seems like a lifetime, baby when I feel this way. 

There was a time that I stood tall, In the eyes of other men 
But by my own choice I left you woman, And now I can't get back again 

How come twenty-four hours, sometimes slip into days? 
A minute seems like a lifetime, Baby when I feel this way 
A minute seems like a lifetime 
When I feel this way...I feel this way"

Led Zeppelin - Tea For One


Ah, Jimmie Page playing a slow blues over John Bonhams' amazing drumming, with John Paul Jones holding down the bass and keys while Plant laments his infidelities.  Very much a song about Robert's fall.  I've given you the link to the 1996 Page Plant shows with Jason Bonham's drums - as its the best live footage available.  Its irritating that there is no John Paul Jones, but they've managed to play his parts by utilising an orchestra (kudos JPJ).  

You either hate Robert Plant's singing or you "get" it.  No shame either way.  Needless to say, they played an enormous part in my musical education.

... and (if you've read this far) onwards and upwards to the picture, which is a take on Bristol's lead shot tower.  (I'm sure you can see what I've done there).  To make the lead shot they would melt it at the top of the tower and then drop it, so that it formed perfect spheres, which would land in cooling water at the bottom, to produce the lead shot.

As always, thanks got to  Youoregon1 for this wonderful challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.