Painted Lady on Agastache

I mentioned that I bought a new purple plant when I visited the Scott Arboretum at Swarthmore last Friday. The plant is Agastache, also known as hummingbird mint or hyssop.

It was the only thing I bought on the trip, and I carried it home tucked between my knees on the long bus ride back from Philadelphia. The next day, I planted it in our yard, not far from the spot where the monarch chrysalis is hanging.

On this day, my husband came running in from the yard shouting that there was an orange butterfly on the new purple plant! So I immediately went out with my camera, and I discovered this lovely painted lady snacking on it. The buttefly stayed a long time, and it was still there when I came back inside!

The song to accompany this image is Elton John, with Sweet Painted Lady.

P.S. For those who may want to know this, here is some information about how to tell a painted lady from an American lady. (I always have to look them up.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.