Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pink...

Sometimes you just find the prettiest things...in your kitchen.  I spotted this little leafhopper on my kitchen curtains this morning - no idea how the little creature got in the house, but I quickly rescued it and put it back outside.  Then, as any good blipper does, I snapped a bunch of photos hoping that I could identify it.  You'd think something this color would be pretty easy to figure out, but you'd be wrong.  I was able to get it down to Genus Gyponana after a bit of searching on Google and various bug sites.  Someone on an entomology site said he would take a guess and say it's Species Gypanana gladia.  I'll take it.  

I actually thought I might go with a three straight days of hummingbirds, but I wasn't happy with the few shots I got this morning.  Besides, who can pass up a pink bug?

Still feeling like crap so I've done pretty much nothing all day.  And now, being exhausted from all the nothing I've done, I'm headed upstairs for a nap.  

Later today I will be releasing one monarch.  She'll go in memory of a good friend's mother who lost her life to colon cancer many years ago.  Looks like two more are on the way tomorrow.  And my last big fat caterpillar is doing his walkabout.  

I'll check in later...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.