Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday...Humming

When I heard the strident chatter of a hummingbird this morning, I knew I had my blip.  All I had to do was wait patiently on the patio, camera in one hand, tea in the other...And, sure enough, eventually she came along and made her rounds through the flowers.  This shot is my pick - I just like all that red.  A cleaner shot can be seen HERE on Flickr

There was also a very vocal catbird in the yard this morning, sitting on the cherry tree and Yakking up a storm.  Suspect it was trying to locate its traveling companions.

I woke up with what I suspect is the start of a cold.  Which sucks.  But it didn't stop me from making a huge pot of tomato sauce from the wonderful huge bag of San Marzano tomatoes our friends gave us last night!  The house smells positively delicious right now as I'm simmering the tomatoes with onions, garlic and herbs.  Once cooled, it will go into batches in freezer bags, the perfect base for some good winter meals.  

As predicted, dinner with our friends last night was just great - so many laughs and, of course, a bit of talk about the state of politics in our country, climate change, monarchs, etc.  John, Hubs and I worked at the same company over 20 years ago, so we had some good stories about the "old days" too.  

And now, I'm off to have a bite of lunch and a nap.  I expect 3 monarchs to emerge today so I'll be releasing them late this afternoon or tomorrow. 

Thanks to my good friend, BikerBear for continuing to host FlowerFriday.  
xo
Debbi

footnote:  I decided to release all three of today's monarchs (2 females and one male) in honor of those who perished in the earthquakes in Mexico this week.  So many children...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.