earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Moment

It's that time of year for temperature inversions and morning mist in the valley. I woke up early out of a dead sleep, triggered by my weather sense. It never seems to fail me. A look out of the window beside my bed and I could see that the mist was rising only very slowly, which gave me time to grab a cup of tea before heading out. After a little wandering about on my own, I spotted a silhouette of someone with their dog on the crags about a quarter of a mile away. I knew immediately who it was, and it turned out she'd spotted me earlier too! We both have the same radar it seems.

After a not so short catch-up (sorry Bex!) we went our separate ways and each found our own little moments of magic. It has proved very difficult to choose which to blip from so many. The window of opportunity for this shot lasted no more than a minute as the mist rose up and then dissipated as quickly as it arrived. I used to believe I was just lucky with these things, but I now realise that local knowledge plays a big part in enabling me to be in the right place at the right time. It still excites me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.