Open road

Today is election day in New Zealand. This is the 2nd or 3rd I've blipped now and I'm probably repeating myself (not that anyone is going to check back on what I said).

I always feel moved when I vote by the privilege that it is. It's been hard won through wars and by men and woman who knew it was right that all citizens of this country should have the right to vote, regardless of sex or the colour of their skin.

I went to my local school. It's brand spanking new, not I paid the hall much attention when I voted. Outside the parents had a sausage sizzle raising money for the school camp. I chatted with a couple of the mums I've got to know. We marveled at the relaxed community feel, and at how fortunate we are to just rock up so casually to vote. No police, security guards or guns.

We marveled at the schools facilities too. One of mum's showed me a classroom through the window and explained the environment and how it works. Very high tech indeed. She and her husband are happy and pleased with how it works for their son.

Then I headed down the road to pick gorse flowers. Being election day and all I thought it was time to dust off my gorse flower cake recipe and make it for tonight's hooly.

The gorse flowers were plentiful, the sun was shining and warm, the sky was interesting, and happily a cyclist biked past. Blip done and dusted.

I managed a pump class this morning but flagged a run. I still have some swelling around one knee and it makes that leg feel a bit odd. Other than that it's cake making, domestics, and then to friends where I think it will be a long night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.