Surprise

A beautiful warm day at home meant gales in the hills, so home was a good place to be. That and a bit of a mix up with day light saving by moi. My body didn't want to do any exercise so I gave it a break today.

I did a lot of bitsy things, stuff I can't necessarily see where I've been but it needed doing. I did spend some time sorting and culling pot plants. They need to bring me pleasure and some had done their dash. A friend popped in and I sent her away with some succulents and a cactus.

I moved the bbq from one area to another and decided to leave the table and chairs where they are. All up I have both areas better configured to make use of as our long days and hopefully warm temperatures progress.

I had a minor poke around in the garden and found a clump of tulips. They are a surprise in this testing, hard soil.

The election was a bit of a surprise too. And now we wait. I've sensed some people are grumpy and testy. Democracy isn't easy but the alternatives are worse. We don't elect governments, we elect parliament who then set about working out who can form a government

Personally I prefer proportional representation over first past the post. While I'm no fan of the king maker he has every right to be there because a proportion of people voted for him.

Just as many other countries with similar electoral systems cope, the sun will continue to rise and set in NZ. Be glad you can and did vote. It is a wonderful thing to do so.

Of course I have my view and opinions about my country and the direction we're headed in. But I also think that it is important to respect the votes and opinions of others.

Today's gratitude: Just over a week ago a Anna my latest great neice was born in Oz. She was a wee bit early but is doing amazingly well as are her Mum and Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.