stujphoto

By stujphoto

Swans on Bielwater

About six weeks ago I snapped a blip of this swan family which was reared on Seafield Pond earlier this year. Here they are a bit closer to home on the river just down the road from us. 

I suspect the parents will not now be able to return to Seafield Pond as another pair of swans have taken up residence there. There was a whole flock of swans that visited the pond earlier this week presumably flying over this area and needing temporary accommodation. I suspect that the pair now on the lake are part of that group and intending to take up residence there. I am not sure how long the cygnets that I have blipped will stay with their parents and when their parents will be ready to begin a new cycle of parenting.

I have just checked the internet to see how long cygnets are reared by their parents and it is normally 6 months after which the parents will shoo them off quite aggressively. I checked back through my blip journal to see when these cygnets were born and it was sometime in early June so it will be a few more months before they have to fend for themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.