A mystery

When I came home yesterday I found a male Vapourer moth Orgyia antiqa sitting on the conservatory door, at first I thought it must be from my larva that pupated about a week ago, but when I checked I realized that that pupa had indeed hatched, but that was this beautiful wingless female still sitting on her cocoon and not the male I had found. Anyway I put them together in my flight cage and he mated her, so I do know the eggs she has laid are fertile (they lay them anyway whatever). After he was finished I put him in the release box, turned round and found another male Vapourer in the sitting room window!! I think she must have been giving off pheromones all day lol!!
So Missy extra interesting is my blip today, sill sitting on her pupal case, with her collection of eggs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.