Apples

Training with Archie first thing. What a nightmare!! We've been moved to a new class with dogs that are going for their Silver awards because Archie has been going backwards a bit in the other class.
Not as backward as he was today!!! Little toe-rag!!
I was mortified that he was so appalling; I didn't like the new people; didn't like one of them shouting at Archie pretty much as soon as we got there; didn't like not knowing anyone; didn't like not chatting and laughing with the other owners like at the other lesson; and basically didn't like being there at all. 
Have I ever mentioned I'm rubbish with change?!!!!
The day went even more pear shaped when I was ready to set off to get the Little Misses for rock climbing. 
I put the kettle on to make a cup of tea to take then shut and locked the back door. 
Looking around for my travel mug I remembered that it was still in Mr K's car from going to Oxford at the crack of dawn on Saturday. I grabbed his car keys and set off to get it. Quickly because I was already running a bit late and didn't really have time to make tea at all!!
I rushed out to his car slamming the door behind me in my hurry to make sure Archie didn't get out.
Shit.
The minute I heard it shut I realised many things simultaneously. Firstly, Mr K's car keys don't have his house keys on because he gets the bus to work. Secondly, my car keys were by the kettle where I'd put them down to quickly make myself a cup of tea. Thirdly, I had just locked the back door that stands open all day long. Fourthly, my phone was dead and, at 4pm, I was already late collecting the Little Misses. Fifthly, Mr K is an hour away.
Shit, shit, shit, shit!!!!!!!
I climbed over the back gate (no easy feat!) in the vain hope that there might be a window ajar. There was not.
Practically hyperventilating by now in my panic I remembered that Mr K's car - which I had the keys for - had a phone charger in. So in I got, turned on the engine, connected my phone and waited.
And waited and waited and waited. Slowest phone charger ever!!
Eventually it came back to life and I called the Little Misses' schools to explain that I'm an idiot and the girls need to go to After School clubs.
Then I scrolled back through all my photos to find the picture of the combination of the key safe on the front of our house. I vaguely remember putting a key in it once when my mum was coming round and although I knew there was nothing in it now, hope is a powerful thing and I wanted to check if there was a key in there. 
There was not.
I rang my dad in the shop to ask did he have a key. Nope!!
I rang my mum in Bicester who definitely has a key and she kindly offered to bring it over.
I finally got hold of Mr K who said that I was indeed insured to drive his car but I didn't really want to drive it because a) it's massive and I've never driven it before and b) it's going back to the dealer next week and I'd lay money on me having a crash in it just in time to scupper that, c) there was only one car seat in it and d) even if I picked the Little Misses up there was nothing to do with them apart from coming home to sit outside the house until Daddy got home!!
So I sat in Mr K's car and ran through this week's Sing and Sign lessons (no doubt looking like a total loon to anyone who saw me!!) until Mum arrived about an hour later.
She headed straight home again for Fat Club but my dad came up from the shop to come and get the Little Misses with me. I was pleased he wanted to come as I thought it would take the edge of the Little Misses' crossness with me for making them miss rock climbing and McDonalds.
They took it surprisingly well!!!
Papa stayed for a coffee when we got home and helped me measure up the kitchen and sketch out some ideas for a new one. Our current kitchen is falling apart and while we toy with the idea of knocking through into the garage to one side or the sun room on the other and creating a new fancy fancy kitchen diner we've realised over the last few days that we have neither the money, the inclination or the need for such major works. We're just going to replace what we've got. 
Let someone else buy our house eventually and ooh and aaah about the extension potential!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.