Sunrise over the Southern Alps

I wondered with the change to daylight saving if I'd miss this morning's sunrise. With huge windows and no curtains the light woke me. I had just enough time to grab a few warm things and head outside with my camera.

I'm spoiled for choice when it comes to choosing today's blip. The intensity of the colours, silence and grandeur of seeing the spine of the South Island - the Southern Alps silhouetted against the sunrise, made this my choice.

View large (without needing a beanie because of the cool wind)

I feel humbled and blessed I'm able to get to locations like these and see such amazing sights as this.

A long day with the boys. We took a 50min round trip detour on the way down to see the old gold mine battery in Garden Gully. It was slow going as we constantly negotiated fallen trees and branches from June's big snow fall.

We were out before the rain. A quick glass of West Coast Black at the Formerly the Hilton Pub at Blackball. Then a pie at Jacksons. When with the boys you do as the boys. They think I'm too healthy.

Home to clean up, catch up with the hunter and process a few photos. This trip has been about views. See yesterday's loo with a view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.