Now we have everything

By Gembop

The dating scan

Today we had our 12 week dating scan (a day early!) at the Whittington Hospital. Robin and I were really excited to see how Bump has grown, but the emotions clearly didn't rub off on our stone-faced sonographer.

Despite drinking a lot of water Bump looked like it was stood up perfectly vertical on the screen so I was sent back out to the waiting room, via the drinking fountain to get it to turn. My bladder apparently wasn't full enough to force it to lay horizontally.

Twenty minutes later and we were finally called back in to find that Bump had moved into the position she needed for her measurements.

Just as we were marveling at the little heartbeat going crazy on screen and the little limbs and big belly, it was over! It was still amazing to see our baby though I had no time to really get emotional - it still seems very surreal!

After the fun came the pain: blood tests. I thought putting them off so they could take 5 vials in one go would the sensible option (especially as I opted into having the downs test too). It did seem to go well right up until I walked out into the corridor with Robin after it was all over. We got down two corridors before it all went white. Robin told me after that he had to get us access to the baby ward so I could find a toilet - I just remember throwing up.

First trimester morning sickness is still continuing with a vengeance together with my skin constantly feeling itchy on my arms and legs (not actually on my stomach where it's started to fill out!)

At week 12, Bump is coming towards the end of the hard bit: developing all the new bodily structures. From here on in, it's all about maturing what's been formed and putting those new organs into practice.

Bump weighs around 1.2 oz now and is 2.5 inches long - the size of a large plum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.