si_b

By si_b

Colour

Wow - what a challenge for Mono Monday ! Ouch. ( Sorry - pedantic Brit spelling color with a u ;-) )

This is a _complete_ cop out. I shoot predominantly in Black and White because, for me, that is _my_ preferred view of photography as art. ( Note this is my opinion - I'm as big a fan of Markus as it comes, so it isn't exclusive by any means ! ) 

I think it has something to do with my personal inability to just "get" colour in my own photos - when (if !) I get past 365 days of B&W images that I'm happy with, I'll push myself to try more colour shots - however, for now, I find texture, form, framing and shade more than enough of a challenge on a daily basis without adding in technicolour.

Put it this way, colour is on my "To Do" list after getting better at portraits !

Anyway, I digress hugely, not an unusual habit I hear ;-)

Black is the absence of all colour, white is the inclusion of all - grey is an equal amount of Red, Green and Blue in an infinite number of grades on a scale. So I choose black, white and grey as my favourite colours.

This little gentleman is a banker, not the "wide boy" types of the 80s and 90s (although with them I could have had "red" for braces), and he's not really of the current batch either. He comes from a time when bowler hats in the City of London were still "de rigueur" - he deviates from the norm by not being clean shaven, which I understand used to be the requirement - but I'm pretty confident that all the best people have beards - so he must be a decent chap. He has been around as long as I can remember and currently graces my desk - his copy of the FT is looking a little long in the tooth - but to be fair, it must be 40 years out of date at least !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.