Black Isle brewery sign, by Munlochy.

Have been living here for nigh-on thirteen years now, and still haven't been along for a visit. Have sampled their wares, and they are good. Just haven't made it there yet. Likewise when I lived in North Berwick decades ago, it was some visitors that finally dragged my family out on a boat trip to the Bass Rock, after some ten years of being there. Heck, I was in my mid-twenties before some other visitors persuaded me to finally go to Edinburgh Castle (a big disappointment), and up until then, I lived and worked quite close to that for all of my life.

Despite the sciatica, I've been able to keep up with cycling and swimming. Though the first mile and a bit on the bike in the morning is, er... "not any fun." This morning, when I reached the Kessock Bridge, the tide was out, and the Beauly Firth was flat calm. Spotted a pair of large rings in the water, and knew immediately it was either caused by seals, or dolphins. I didn't have to wait long for the answer, as a pair of dolphins jumped clean out of the water. Stopped to watch them for a short while, and they eventually made their way up in to the harbour part of the River Ness. Such beautiful creatures, and I think that's the first time I've seen them from the bridge this year. They are always easier to spot when it is calm, as are any seals, and otters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.