Middle-Of-The-Road Rabbit

Backblipping as I got behind with comments and wanted to catch up before I posted.

Weather was a bit iffy so I decided to go to Fishers Green. As I drove into the reserve I spotted this young rabbit in the middle of the road on the 5mph sign. It sat there while I stopped the car, got my camera out of the boot and took its picture. I was concerned that it might be unwell but then it sprang into life and hopped away.

What a lovely surprise when I entered Longlands Hide. A stretch of land opposite was a riot of beautiful purple and white flowers. Unfortunately I couldn't get very close to them. I phoned the Lee Valley Park farm to try to find out what they are. Someone is going to ring me back but in the meantime I think I might have identified them as green manure. The purple is possibly Phacelia tanacetifolia native to North and South America. Its common names are purple tansy, fiddle neck and scorpion flower. The white could be Raphanus satavia the oil radish. I should imagine insects are loving the flowers.

From there to the Bittern Hide where I loved listening to hundreds of Canada geese on Seventy acres Lake. They were honking and gobbling before they splashed into the air in flock after flock bound for their roosting grounds.

Today's poem is The Moor by RS Thomas. https://poems4peace.wordpress.com/2014/04/06/the-moor-by-rs-thomas/

No moors near me but I feel just as the poet did when alone in the countryside. I commune with Nature and have been moved to tears by its beauty.         

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.