A Vole, I Was Voluble

I think I'm turning into a wildlife whisperer. MrQ heard a pheasant in the glasshouses when he was picking his tomatoes this morning. I went to investigate and found a young male bird standing under a flowering Nicotiana sylvestris plant.. I started chatting to him, as I do all my subjects and luckily he wasn't spooked. As I told him how handsome he is he strutted slowly, calmly and purposefully past MrQ's woodcutting area, under the fig tree and out of the door.

On the way back to the house I met a bank vole trotting under the grape vine. That didn't scarper either. After I'd told it how gorgeous it is I picked a grape and offered it to the ball of fluff. The darling little creature loved it and scoffed the fruit while I watched. :)

Today's poem is I know the truth - give up all other truths! by Marina Tsvetayeva. http://stillcraic.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/tuesday-poem-i-know-truth-give-up-all.html

Such a sad poem. MT lived a life of extreme privation, loneliness, poverty and despair. She was driven to suicide. We all live and we will all die. One commentator has said, "The real question is, while we move and act upon the earth, do we ease the suffering of others or add to it? Will we let each other rest above the earth, or only beneath it?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.