Been Talking To The Animals Again

The pheasant I was chatting to yesterday decide to stroll through the garden gate and explore. I spotted it while I was at the sink and went out with the camera. I approached it, talking softly and continuously. After scratching around the bins for a while it walked towards me and then out of the gate.

I called in at the Panshanger Park Dragonfly Trail. You can see this common darter's face turned towards me. I'm kneeling and chatting away to it. I also stroked its tail, which it seemed to like. I spoke to a hornet too and managed a shot of it in flight. 

From there to Tewin Orchard nature reserve. I've never been before. When I got out of the car the cider smell hit me. I enjoyed walking under the trees heavy with fruit, finding the ancient badger sett and a log that looked like a pig. 

On the way home I had a quick visit to the Tewinbury hide, saw a kingfisher but failed to capture it.

Today's poem is Stars Wheel in Purple by HD. https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/stars-wheel-purple

Oh my Gosh! How weird. I've just been researching Dr Doolitle. I wondered what HD stood for. It's Hilda DOOLITTLE! Also one of her best known poems is Orchard.
Today's poem is in praise of Polaris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.