A Little (Owl) Ruffled

Every time I pass the lodge of the All Nations College in Stanstead Abbotts I look up to the ornate chimney to see if the little owl that I've photographed and blipped a couple of times is on station. I haven't seen it recently. A mate told me that it's still there but might be on the side away from the road.

I parked and walked up the lane today and I was delighted to see it staring down at me. It was a little ruffled by the stiff breeze. 

"I had forgotten how small

It is, the Little Owl ....

.... Forgotten too its stare

A yellow blinkless glare:

And the grip it perches by - ...."

Peter Walton

Male little owls keep the same territory for life. They can live up to sixteen years. Wonder if it and its mate nest in the chimney?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.