CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Tiny yellow spider weaving a web on the Isotoma

I've noticed that today is one of those insect days. The air outside is filled with flying beasties, mostly ladybirds apparently. I have seen lots of birds, even quite big ones, such as crows, wheeling around in the sky twisting and turning before lunging or swooping to catch a prey on the wing.

The ladybirds have been gathering on the white stucco walls and coming in through the windows until I closed them all. I think they are sensing the onset of cooler weather and are looking to hibernate.

I took a few pictures of them but they are hard to catch when still so couldn't get their whole bodies in focus. After a couple of minutes I looked about me and close by I saw this wonderful Isotoma plant I bought this spring which has grown and flowered unstintingly ever since.

As I looked closely I spotted a tiny spider zooming up and down as it swiftly built its web. When it sat on the petal it was preparing to spin the next part of the matrix. How clever and it is rather beautiful too. I don't remember seeing one like this before.

Thank you to Loisbiz for hosting the Tiny Tuesday challenge today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.