Grandma's Fork

It has always been known as Grandma's Fork, the one 3rd from the right, it's also what my mother and my aunt (her sister) called it, because it was indeed their grandmother's fork, from the set she used every day. Unfortunately. I don't know whether it was their Maternal or Paternal grandma, but, in either case, it would date around the mid C19.

At home we used it to make mashed potato, a task in which those narrow tines excelled, and I continued to do so until the wooden handle began to show signs of splitting. Luckily I found another in a junk shop to use instead - then collected others as I saw them. I like the variety in the handles, though the tines are the same shape. Comparing the sizes, I guess that the larger are dining and the smaller dessert forks, but that's just another fact my mother did not explain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.