Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Not Fazed (at all)

I had another appointment to see the consultant at hospital this afternoon. As my wife works in the hospital I decided I'd walk to the appointment and get a lift back afterwards.  I'm a great lover of canal walking and I could use the Wyrley and Essington Canal from near home right to the hospital.

As ever a camera was over my shoulder, looking for possible images.  You can probably imagine my surprise when I came across another family of swans.  I'm pretty sure they aren't the same one's as yesterday, firstly there were only six cygnets and they were a good three miles from where we saw the family on Tuesday.  These were 'taking a breather', basking in the afternoon sun, quite intent not to be bothered with passers by.  I walked past them all, without any suggestion of them vacating their position on the footpath.  I can't have been much more than a metre from them as I took photographs.

After that I finished the walk, seven miles and not a single lock to contend with - perhaps why it is 2 miles further by canal footpath than by road.  I made the appointment time with a few minutes to spare, but I needn't have worried, the clinic was running late by half an hour.  Looks like I'll be going under the knife again in the next few months - oh joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.