Marbles

By Marbles

Blankets

One of my main hobbies is crochet. This is just a small part of my current, almost finished project.

I learned to crochet 50 years ago and only came back to it as a hobby about four years ago. My main focus was blanket making and, earlier this year, I found I had almost 40 blankets of varying sizes stashed away in my wardrobe. I tried selling them on Etsy but I'm so hopeless at self-promotion that I had no success so I decided to give them to charity shops. The smallest ones, cot sized, went to the Cancer Research shop but the bigger ones, single-double bed size went to the Salvation Army. I had hoped that they would give them direct to the street sleepers; I rather liked the idea of a homeless person wrapping themselves up in one of my blankets knowing that it had been made with love and that someone cared. The shop, however, decided they'd get more benefit from them if they sold the blankets and used the money for other purposes.

This blanket though is for my husband. He made the mistake of saying, when I was half way through it, that he liked it so he's getting it when it's finished. It should only take another evening's work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.