Lucky Shot

I was just plugging in my camera to download today's photos of Malta, and in particular a Grand Harbour cruise that I'd been on, when I heard a jet. It's an unusual noise in the Sliema area where my hotel is so, knowing that the air show is on again today I grabbed the camera from the USB lead and dashed out onto the balcony.
This photo was the result.
I took loads because at first the A320 was flying over - By the way, the reason the Air Malta A320 is part of the display is because it has the new livery commemorating the 70th anniversary of the George Cross being presented to the people and islands of Malta for their bravery under constant bombardment from the German and Italian air forces. They were laid to siege by U-Boats and the Axis navies attacking freight convoys and there are some incredible stories to be read there as well.
Anyway, I digress;
So after I'd taken a few of the A320 I heard the unmistakable sound of a Merlin engine and the Spitfire went flashing by up Sliema Creek and then banked around to join the A320.
What an opportunity, brilliant luck, I've sent a few of the photos on to Joe Ciliberti, the airshow organiser, and Robert Camilleri who put together the airshow magazine.
Did I tell you I was featured in the magazine? One little mistake in the editing was that when i told the story of my Landlord, Reno Grech - The Grech name originated in the country of Phonecia, not the Hotel Phonecia as in the article HAHAHAHAHA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.