Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hampton Court Palace

Today I attended an arts society event which was a tour of Hampton Court Palace by an art historian. We only visited selected rooms as there is so much to see, and also visited the art collections. I have visited the palace a few times before so am familiar with it, but I always enjoy seeing the beautiful architecture. Today I saw more of the art than I have ever seen before as we visited the Cumberland Gallery which was very interesting. Most people think of the palace as being a Tudor building, which it is (see extra photo) but of course it is also Baroque and this section, built for Mary and William by Christopher Wren is equally beautiful as can be seen here with a view of Fountain Court.

I have now packed and am ready for my early morning departure to get the Eurostar to Paris for our photography weekend. Gavin arrives home tomorrow morning, but I may miss seeing him if he is delayed at the airport. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.