The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blue heron

Sunset colours on the estuary can be spectacular, but there is more subtlety to the colours pre- and post-sunset. Here the sun was in cloud but bright enough to illuminate the patch of water in which the heron was fishing. 

This of course is a grey heron, though there has been a purple heron at Leighton Moss this last month. I did call in on Tuesday in hope of seeing it as I was on my way back from being punctured, but the hide was full of people, and some were coughing and spluttering. I had to beat a hasty retreat. An early morning visit is needed. Birding has become a mass-participation pastime, which is good that there is now so much interest and enthusiasm, but in my current immune suppressed state I need to stay well clear of busy places.

Until this evening, it had been a bright, sunny Autumn day. The ivy flowers are opening with a late feast for the red admirals and hoverflies. Gus and I had a walk round Haweswater at lunchtime as we start to venture further afield. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.