It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

the Fridge

I wasn't sure what I was going to do today apart from a run. The weather forecast was poor so going to the final day of the National's at the velodrome was a possibility. I stayed in bed for a while, reading 220 Triathlon magazine. It had my name in it again but no picture this time; a slight inaccuracy too, saying that I work for GB Cycling...suggesting I'm on the world class programme.

My run was really brilliant. I headed up Long Lane into Charlesworth then up onto Coombes Edge. It's nearly a 5km climb without much respite. Ascending to the ridge was tough as the wind was so strong, at the point of making me 'run' sideways. Not as bad as the day in Snowdonia when I was on my hands and knees crawling but bad all the same. The ridge was calmer but running was still tricky. Erosion of the path is substantial after such a washout of a summer. It's normally really peaceful up there, with the odd bird-of-prey for company. However, the countryside ranger was leading a walk of about 30 people and they were strung out along the ridge. The descent was tough, very steep and slippery so it was about 1km before I could get running again. Woodseats was even worse because of mud, meaning that I had to scuttle slowly. I only fell once! Exactly 10km by the time I had got home, with over 350m of climbing in 75 mins!

Then, I tidied the fridge! Eek, this is a way too healthy fridge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.