It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A buzzin place to work today

What a hot day today. My ride into work was good, nice and relaxed but it took it's toll as I feel rubbish tonight. 700km week in the saddle is probably my biggest ever, even when I was training for Ironman.

Reflecting on the week, it was quite positive as I have written a whole chapter on "skill acquisition" and learnt quite a bit doing so. It's the National Track Champs this week so a few of us took a wander into the velodrome towards the end of the day. The men's keirin was on which was great! I think this is the best race performed on the track.....think Ben Hur on a bike when Chris Hoy gets going.

I was really struggling to get a good shot with an 18-55mm lens ....eek! I desire a bigger one! This pic is of Miles Stovold who I have never really heard of, a team mate of young Kev Stewart that I was cheering on. Kev made a few daft mistakes in his heat...looking on his outside only for the whole bunch to pass on the inside. He didn't pick up a wheel and rolled in near the back. Eeeek, I used to compete in triathlon with the guy's dad!

Another blast from my past Sir Chris rode a brill and controlling heat. He got his record bench press in the gym a few days ago and I'm guessing on current form he'll make next year's Olympic team even with some very fine challengers for his crown.

I'm looking forward to tomorrow as I'm delivering a session for some BMX coaches and then I'll watch the champs later in the day. It's the Tory Party conference on Sunday so I may go along to get a blip and maybe protest a little!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.