Flower Friday...The Mitten and the Mum

The Lower Peninsula of my Michigan is shaped like a mitten, a mitten you wear on your hand. In fact, it is the ONLY state in the United States where you can show people where you live. You simply put up the back of your left hand, and use your right hand pointer finger to show them where you reside. Pretty cool, huh?

The shape also lends itself to being a pretty good model for an Adirondack chair. (I did take the liberty of showing where I live by putting a small mitten of mums on the spot.)

The shape also lend itself to some good state slogans that show up on t-shirts. My favorite is Smitten with the Mitten, although I'm working on some of my own.

1. How about a shirt with a giant mosquito on it that says...I've been Bitten in the Mitten?
2. How about...I'll be Admittin...I Love the Mitten?
3. How about...I Love the Land of the Hand?
4. How about...It's Grand...to Live in the Hand?
5. And, for an ice cream store. How about...Banana Splittin...in the Mitten?

Enough of those. Thanks to Bikerbabe (Bikerbear) for hosting Flower Friday.

P.S. Don't you think the florist company could have rolled up the hose for my picture? Also...the chair is for sale. 200 dollars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.